Our admissions panel is comprised of an impartial jury of established artists, musicians, educators, thinkers, critics, curators, and makers of all kinds from Chicago and elsewhere in addition to a selection of ACRE alumni volunteers.

Jury members are asked to evaluate work samples and the written portion of the application. Scoring is based on quality of work, potential for growth, and appropriateness based on the facilities and environment our program offers. Application review is non-blind and conducted online using an application system similar to SlideRoom developed by ACRE administrative staff as well as a final in-person round. Each year ACRE works with a committee to select a new jury, as jurors may only serve on ACRE's admissions panel once within a period of 3 years. 

Notification of acceptance will be issued by late-April. Applicants awarded a residency must notify ACRE of intent to attend by May 7, at which point artists on the wait-list will be awarded open spots.

Special thank you to all our generous panelists who donate their time and expertise to this process!

2019 Admissions Panel

Aaron Walker
AJ McClenon
Alden Burke
Alexandra Antoine
Allison Lacher 
Amina Ross
Andrew Mausert Mooney
Andy Kincaid
Ashley King
Ato Ribierio 
Azadeh Gholizadeh
Ben Chaffee 
Brenna Quinn
Brian Paumier 
Chaz Evans
Chelsea Welch
Christy Roberts
Courtney Mackedanz
Dan Gunn
Dan Miller
Daniel G. Baird
Daniro Elle Brown
Dao Nguyen
Demecina Beehn
Derrick Woods-Morrow
Erin Hayden
Fabienne Elie
Faye Glessier
Felicia Holman
Gibran Villalobos
gonzalo reyes rodriguez
Hannah Patterson
Jacinda Russell
Jamillah Hinson
Jessica Campbell
Jessica Darnell
Jim Drain
Johanne Rahaman
Jon Chambers
Jory Drew
Joshua Demaree
Julietta Cheung
Kathy Cho
Kenya Lazuli
Kim Ye
Kioto Aoki
Lora Lode 
Madison Creech
Madison Smith
Mark McCloughan
Mary Coyne
Megan Taylor Noe 
Mia Khimm
Michael Metzger 
Natessa Amin
Nicky Ni
Noelle Garcia
Robert Smith III
Rosalynn Gingerich
Sara Black
Sarah Dhobhany
Sharmyn Cruz Riveria 
Sheridan Tucker
Wil Ruggiero
William Estrada 
Willy Smart
Yun Ingrid Lee